I started to let Lucy drink out of a regular cup this morning. I was watching the older kids in the nursery drink water out of dixie cups yesterday and started thinking that this could be our next accomplishment. So, I gave Lucy a little cup this morning with a little bit of water and just thought I would see how she did. Every day I'm surprised at how smart she is. She picked up the cup and took a big gulp like she had been drinking from a regular cup her whole life. Then. . . she shook the cup and the water spilled on her shirt. She looked at me and said 'wet'. . . 'paper towel'. I'm not kidding, this kid is so stinkin' smart! In Lucy language, the word paper towel sounds like 'peetalow', but she says it every time I use one. It must be fun to say. I thought it was so smart and so hilarious that she knew that a paper towel was for wet spills.
I really wanted to get a video, but I couldn't find the camera. I did get her drinking and spilling a little later with my phone.
I also got her saying one of her new favorite words: Heavy. Everything is heavy these days.
P.S. Thank you Grandma for giving me the little plastic cups!
My Grandma saved the cups that my brother, cousins and I used at her house when we were little. I remember drinking from them.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

1 comment:
did you spill your cup and have to use a "peetalow"?
Hurry and teach her a song so she can sing sometime with Papa!
Post a Comment